Sony KDL-W5500 calibration settings thread

OneMoreSolo

Established Member
Reaction score
Seeing as several people (including myself) now have one of the new series of Sony TVs, it makes sense to have a settings thread - especially as the other thread is now very large.

I have no experience of calibrating televisions, and I'm sure I'm not the only one who isn't an expert, so if people could post their calibrated settings that would be excellent!

Thanks in advance to anyone who posts suggested settings :thumbsup:

Anyone got any good settings yet? The default settings seem pretty good but in a pitch black room the backlight on my tv has some bleed...

I would be very happy to see some guidance on how to calibrate the W5500 from the resident experts on the forum :)

hi guys i am looking to get this TV but i cant find any calibration settings, did anybody find any :lease:

Right!

I've been playing around with the DVE disc and have the following settings:

for Blueray (source is Sony BDP-S350)

Backlight - as required
Contrast 70
Brightness 44
Colour 49
Sharpness min
gamma +2
colour temp neutral
film mode auto1

All noise reductions/colour corrections etc off

have played around with the white balance a bit and have fidled a bit of
B bias to +4
G bias to +5
G gain -7
B Gain -2
R Bias -1

But I am still playng with the white balance as my knowledge of what do is limited.

It seems to have got rid of the nasty backlight bleed in the corners although there is still a bit of screen non-uniformity when there is no input.

I'm currently trying them on the Sky + SD content but with noise reduction set to low and Mpeg reduction set to medium.

feel free to give them a try - and I'd welcome any comments.

Cheers

would the same settings suffice for playing your ps3 as your blueray settings?

Having read all three parts of the W5500 thread your very question (and my own recent request) has been asked many times but seldom answered.