Español Français Deutsch Italiano Nederlands Svenska Dansk Japanese Chinese (Simplified) Russian
 
AVForums.com twitter AVForums is a member of CEDIA. THX certified reviewer.  Click for more information. AVForums reviewers are ISF Certified.  Click for more information.
 
The UK's biggest and best home entertainment electronics forums  
4 million visitors each month


Forums Register Blogs Information Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   AVForums.com > AVForums Editorial > Home Cinema and Tech News

Today's price checkPowered by
Oregon Scientific HR102 Heart Rate Monitor
Iwoot ADOPT A VINE GIFT SET
Pocket Surfer PocketSurfer 2 Lite
Iwoot FILM TO SD SCANNER
Oregon Scientific HR102 Heart Rate Mo... 
Iwoot ADOPT A VINE GIFT SET 
Pocket Surfer PocketSurfer 2 Lite 
Iwoot FILM TO SD SCANNER 
SONY PRS300S.CE7 
Firebox Retro iPod Alarm Clock Black ... 
Olympus DM-450 Digital Voice Recorder 
Iwoot USB MICROSCOPE X400 MAGNIFICATION 
Extra Value EXDISPLAY Multi Colour Le... 
Extra Value EXDISPLAY Ultimate 3ft Mi... 
 More...Prices updated November 23rd at 1:30am and include delivery.

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale : Original Launch 60GB PS3 (SACD, Memory Card Slots and PS2 Compatible) seanm PS3 Classified Adverts 34 21-11-2009 1:12 PM
MW2 Midnight Launch Thread GarythePotato Call Of Duty (COD) Xbox 360 416 11-11-2009 1:28 PM
Sky Player on Xbox 360: FAQ Munkey Boy Xbox 360 0 27-10-2009 9:44 AM
3G iPhone, recently updated Apps now they won't launch rich10101 iPhone Jailbreaking 3 23-10-2009 8:52 PM
Wanted : js tech component switch or similar tomdanscar Home Cinema and Hi-Fi Equipment Classified Adverts 6 22-10-2009 8:21 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27-10-2009, 3:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
News Supplying Robot
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posts: 5,481
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 175
Post Scareware launched from tech blog

Gizmodo, one the world's biggest tech blogs, has been running adverts poisoned by malware say security experts.
More...
__________________
If you feel like commenting on this news item, please post a reply.
The News Bot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2009, 4:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0
Re: Scareware launched from tech blog

This has happened with a whole load of 'reputable' sources, even Google got stung by it not long ago.

Its the problem with PPC and Adverts coming from other sources, you can never tell whats in them.

Check the register.co.uk, they usually have some good information on affected sites.
Sago_destiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2009, 10:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
eni
New Member
 
eni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: Gave 1, Got 0
Re: Scareware launched from tech blog

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sago_destiny View Post
This has happened with a whole load of 'reputable' sources, even Google got stung by it not long ago.

Its the problem with PPC and Adverts coming from other sources, you can never tell whats in them.

Check the register.co.uk, they usually have some good information on affected sites.
Good advice mate. Although I prefer a more esoteric, if somewhat antiquated, solution is just to learn that anyway 'software' that comes from a banner add, no matter how respectable the website is; is more likely than not either simple bloatware that does little or nothing, or is actively damaging to you and your computer!
It is one of the great things about the BBC website however - no adds, no mess, no malware. Our TV-Licenses at work chaps
__________________
I don't believe you! Prove it to me and I still won't believe you! - Douglas Adams
eni is offline   Reply With Quote



Bookmarks
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 2:12 AM.

AV Forums
Optimised for Firefox.
RSS Feed
AVForums.com is owned and operated by M2N Limited.
Copyright © 2000-2009 M2N E. & O. E.
Global Gold
Web Hosting