 | | |
16-12-2008, 10:29 AM
|
#1 (permalink)
| | New Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0 | New auction site – do you think its legit? The Intelligent Bid – Auction Site
The Intelligent Bid is a new auction site, listing auctions in several categories including brand new AV products. Users buy bids and then place them on their chosen auctions. Each bid increases the auction's final sale price and end time by a fixed amount. The auction ends when the timer runs out, and the winning bidder then pays the final price and postage of the item, which should be delivered within 12 working days. Auctions normally end below the retail value of the listed item. We hope you choose to bid with theintelligentbid.com
*******
I’m planning to replace my CRT TV with a Sony KDL 40V3000U. Whilst I was looking for prices I came across this auction website. Does anyone have any experience with websites like this – is it worth trying or would I be better buying the TV elsewhere? As the site are offering free bids when you sign up I think it might be worth a shot.
Last edited by DarrenHull; 16-12-2008 at 10:37 AM.
|
| |
16-12-2008, 10:35 AM
|
#2 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: May 2007 Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 517
Thanks: Gave 27, Got 30 | Re: New auction site – do you think its legit?
It can't be can it? Laptops selling for 14p that 'ended' 03 January 2009?
|
| |
16-12-2008, 10:39 AM
|
#3 (permalink)
| | Super Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2001 Location: Midlands
Posts: 14,938
Thanks: Gave 1,457, Got 2,441 | Re: New auction site – do you think its legit?
There are loads of these tinpot auction sites all hoping to try and break Ebay's monopoly and all failing miserably
__________________
Ian Opinions expressed by myself are not necessarily those of AV Forums |
| |
16-12-2008, 10:40 AM
|
#4 (permalink)
| | Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,600
Thanks: Gave 1,148, Got 754 | Re: New auction site – do you think its legit?  Does seem a little hopeless..
__________________ My opinions expressed here do not represent those of the AV Forums or its associated websites Forum Rules Tosh 32" LCD - Hitatchi PJ-TX300 & 6' screen - XE1 - BDP-83 - Onkyo 875 - M&K K7 Center - M&K K17 F L&R - M&K K4 R L&R - SVS SB12+ Sub
Last edited by Bald Monkey; 16-12-2008 at 10:55 AM.
|
| |
16-12-2008, 11:08 AM
|
#5 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: Bishops Stortford
Posts: 830
Thanks: Gave 44, Got 26 | Re: New auction site – do you think its legit?
The typo on the home page: There are not any acution yet! Does not scream quality!! |
| |
16-12-2008, 11:09 AM
|
#6 (permalink)
| | Prominent Member
Join Date: Jul 2005 Location: Great Yarmouth
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: Gave 5, Got 171 | Re: New auction site – do you think its legit?
You got your link wrong. Take out the avforums part.
It's probably a con as the Sony BDP-S350 Blu-ray DVD Player supposedly sold for £24.48 and you can not even get any info on the buyer, just the name.
Looks like they've after your bank details when you create an account.
You have to pay to bid as well.
__________________
Respect Ma Auth-ora-tah
Last edited by marty2005; 16-12-2008 at 11:12 AM.
|
| |
16-12-2008, 11:13 AM
|
#7 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: Bishops Stortford
Posts: 830
Thanks: Gave 44, Got 26 | Re: New auction site – do you think its legit? Quote:
Originally Posted by marty2005 You got your link wrong. Take out the avforums part. | yeah you need to delete the avforum bit in the web-bar, I wouldn't get to excited though Marty, but it's worth a look for a giggle...  .. I mean that home page has superb entertainment value, Ebay must be cacking it! |
| |
16-12-2008, 11:28 AM
|
#8 (permalink)
| | Prominent Member
Join Date: Jul 2005 Location: Great Yarmouth
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: Gave 5, Got 171 | Re: New auction site – do you think its legit?
If you win a bid on Ebay you are obliged to pay for it.
If you win a bid on Ebay and the seller didn't get any more bids is the seller also oblidged to sell you the item for the winning bid?
I won a bid for a motorcycle on Ebay ages ago then got an email from the seller to say that he'd changed his mind.
Just wondered how this new site is going to work although it's not real. I wouldn't be fooled, it reminds me of the auction crews that come to Great Yarmouth in the Summer, they rent out some premises, fleece everyone then they've gone.
In fact the bidders are in the crowd and have been exposed in the local newspapers.
I went to one for a laugh, they sell stuff dead cheap BUT you never see them working before you buy. I've seen people buy camcorders, digital cameras, laptops etc.
You see people walking away with black bin-liners crammed with boxes that contain non-working items and probably bricks.
__________________
Respect Ma Auth-ora-tah |
| |
16-12-2008, 11:42 AM
|
#9 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: Nov 2006 Location: Chester
Posts: 315
Thanks: Gave 24, Got 12 | Re: New auction site – do you think its legit?
Rip off, stay away guys, same as telebid.
You buy the bids and then try to win the item.
So you bid and if the clock gets to 0 then you win.
The company always makes a fortune as there can be hundreds of bids per auction.
Steer way clear. |
| |
20-12-2008, 4:13 PM
|
#10 (permalink)
| | Distinguished Member
Join Date: May 2005 Location: Spaghetti Junction (really)
Posts: 13,978
Thanks: Gave 178, Got 1,230 | Re: New auction site – do you think its legit?
They are not a con.
Well, Swoopo certainly isn't.
There was a kid on BBC news this morning who had won a brand new mini for the princely sum of £27, I think it was
But I wouldn't recommend using them, as for every winner, there are loads of losers. I was chasing a Nikon D90 for very little money, but ended up placing £180 worth of bids. I gave up in the end as I'd been bidding for hours
That said, the items invariably do end up with a considerable saving.
But you do have to be willing to lose substantial amounts of money most times, which negates everything unless you get really lucky, I guess.
The article on the Beeb was asking if it was a form of gambling.
I personally think it is.
__________________ ASTON VILLA
Never bite the hand that feeds you. It's usually your own.
|
| |
20-12-2008, 4:34 PM
|
#11 (permalink)
| | Prominent Member
Join Date: Jul 2005 Location: Great Yarmouth
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: Gave 5, Got 171 | Re: New auction site – do you think its legit?
Like you said the bidding goes sky high and yet on the home page they are telling you the Sony S350 Bluray player went for £24.48.
I wonder if what they have is brand new or faulty.
Then they'll probably be further hidden fees to pay.
__________________
Respect Ma Auth-ora-tah |
| |
20-12-2008, 4:43 PM
|
#12 (permalink)
| | Distinguished Member
Join Date: May 2005 Location: Spaghetti Junction (really)
Posts: 13,978
Thanks: Gave 178, Got 1,230 | Re: New auction site – do you think its legit? Quote: |
Like you said the bidding goes sky high and yet on the home page they are telling you the Sony S350 Bluray player went for £24.48.
| The 24.28 will be the price the winner paid, so no con there
But if it's a 1P auction, that means 2428 bids at 40p a throw (on swoopo) which equals about £975 
That's how the site makes it's money.
Then again, I've seen a £680 camera go for around £2.80.
I'll let you do the sums, but suffice to say, they lost a fortune on that one.
Swings and roundabouts etc.
The stuff is brand new and 100% kosher.
__________________ ASTON VILLA
Never bite the hand that feeds you. It's usually your own.
|
| |
28-12-2008, 10:53 PM
|
#13 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: Aug 2007 Location: Carlisle
Posts: 365
Thanks: Gave 41, Got 71 | Re: New auction site – do you think its legit? Quote:
Originally Posted by Badger0-0 They are not a con.
Well, Swoopo certainly isn't.
There was a kid on BBC news this morning who had won a brand new mini for the princely sum of £27, I think it was
But I wouldn't recommend using them, as for every winner, there are loads of losers. I was chasing a Nikon D90 for very little money, but ended up placing £180 worth of bids. I gave up in the end as I'd been bidding for hours
That said, the items invariably do end up with a considerable saving.
But you do have to be willing to lose substantial amounts of money most times, which negates everything unless you get really lucky, I guess.
The article on the Beeb was asking if it was a form of gambling.
I personally think it is. | I used swoopo - they gave me a handful of free bids and £20 credit towards won items and ending up getting mario kart for the wii at round about £6inc delivery
Used my own pennies for that, save the £20 for another day or a better win!
Arrived and everything, couldn't believe my lucky
__________________ A man chooses, a slave obeys. |
| |
28-12-2008, 11:09 PM
|
#14 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: Mar 2003 Location: Preston
Posts: 319
Thanks: Gave 3, Got 33 | Re: New auction site – do you think its legit?
The BBC ran a report on these "Penny Auction" sites just before Christmas... BBC NEWS | Business | Penny web auctions under scrutiny
Tony
__________________ =========================
Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Panasonic TH-37PE30B, Samsung BD-P1500, SKY+ HD, SKY+, Xbox360 Elite, Xbox360 Premium, Onkyo SR-605, Onkyo DS-A3 Dock, Jamo A102 HCS5 |
| |
28-12-2008, 11:33 PM
|
#15 (permalink)
| | Distinguished Member
Join Date: May 2005 Location: Spaghetti Junction (really)
Posts: 13,978
Thanks: Gave 178, Got 1,230 | Re: New auction site – do you think its legit?
That was the report I was referring to mate
Although IIRC, that report says it's not gambling, it absolutely is
__________________ ASTON VILLA
Never bite the hand that feeds you. It's usually your own.
|
| | | |