Español Français Deutsch Italiano Nederlands Svenska Dansk Japanese Chinese (Simplified) Russian
 
AVForums.com twitter AVForums is a member of CEDIA. THX certified reviewer.  Click for more information. AVForums reviewers are ISF Certified.  Click for more information.
 
The UK's biggest and best home entertainment electronics forums  
4 million visitors each month


Forums Register Blogs Information Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   AVForums.com > Lifestyle Topics > General Chat

Latest AVForums Movie Reviews
Gray Lady Down - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack CD ReviewUp Blu-ray ReviewLéon Blu-ray ReviewNear Dark Blu-ray ReviewLogan's Run Blu-ray Review
Taking of Pelham 1 2 3, The Blu-ray ReviewStar Trek Blu-ray ReviewUFC 100: Lesnar vs. Mir (2009) Blu-ray ReviewThe New York Ripper Blu-ray ReviewHeat Blu-ray Review


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2006, 9:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
mjn
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Herts, England
Posts: 5,342
Thanks: Gave 122, Got 413
The latest ebay scam e-mail.

Dear xxxxxxx@hotmail.com:

When people break our policies, violate consumer trust and the law of the land, eBay and PayPal work with law enforcement throughout the world to apprehend and prosecute fraudsters. Our diligence in this area is evidenced by the arrests that are made and the trust that is built both within the community and with law enforcement. Most importantly, we do this without compromising our commitment to our member's privacy. eBay, Inc., has established a Fraud Investigations Team (FIT) to promote safe use of our platforms, and to collaborate with law enforcement throughout the world to enforce policies, prosecute fraudsters and help keep our Community safe.

Valued eBay Member,

We are contacting you to remind you that on 07 JUN 2005 we identified some unusual activity in your account coming from a foreign IP address :capitol.guatemala-203-pc.in ( IP address located in India ) . We have been notified that a card associated with your account has been reported as lost or stolen and involved in fraudulent transactions, or that there were additional problems with your card.

According to our site policy you will have to confirm that you are the real owner of the eBay account by completing the following form or else your account will be marked as fraudulent , and will remain open for investigation. You will pay for the fees wich will result from the financial transactions between eBay and FIT ( Fraud Investigations Team ) .

https://signin.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI...=&UsingSSL=yes

eBay's Privacy Policy and Law Enforcement Disclosure: We care deeply about the privacy of the eBay community and will protect the privacy of our members even while working closely with law enforcement to prevent criminal activity. If you are unsure about our privacy practices, please visit eBay's Privacy Central for more information.
__________________
Sony STRDB930, Rotel RMB-1075, Sony KDL-40X2000U, HD HTPC, B&W CDM 1NT, CNT & SNT, MF A3 24-bit DAC, SkyHD, TSU7000 ProntoPro NG, QED cables

Follow my PC Case mod project here: http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1189553
mjn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 9:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ex Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,557
Thanks: Gave 69, Got 316
That is a fairly old scam re-visited Genuine Ebay emails are always addressed to the user name you used when you joined, and never addressed to an e-mail address.
Nick_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 10:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Lawrenzini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,811
Thanks: Gave 235, Got 374
Humph, that link is fake? My browser indicated that it is a secure connection in the same way it usually does when I sign into ebay.

I'm slightly confused.
__________________


Lawrenzini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 10:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ex Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,557
Thanks: Gave 69, Got 316
Very often the text displayed in the links and where the links actually take you are two different places.

Like this:

http://www.yahoo.co.uk
Nick_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 4:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Lawrenzini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,811
Thanks: Gave 235, Got 374
I understand that however in my browser (firefox) when it is on a secure page the address bar goes green to indicate a secure connection. It did this when I went onto that link. Also the link in the address bar looked very ebay like.
__________________


Lawrenzini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 4:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Veteran Member
 
krish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: nr. Pinner
Posts: 5,754
Thanks: Gave 1,673, Got 1,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawrenzini
I understand that however in my browser (firefox) when it is on a secure page the address bar goes green to indicate a secure connection. It did this when I went onto that link. Also the link in the address bar looked very ebay like.
could that be because the OP has only copied the text here rather than the actual dubious hyperlink ...mmm?
krish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 4:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Moderator
 
LFC_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 13,994
Thanks: Gave 970, Got 1,851
Blog Entries: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick_UK
Burn him! A witch say I!
__________________
Opinions expressed here are my own and do not represent those of the AV Forums or its associated websites
Selling my Aluminium Macbook | Trading Rules - Read for Your Protection | DVDs
LFC_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 6:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
FruitBat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ealing
Posts: 546
Thanks: Gave 22, Got 56
This is the same email I got this week (see here).

I reported it to eBay and the link (under the "Respond To This Notification" button) no longer works. I suppose they can just keep registering new domain names which look a bit eBay.

[edit: that probably needs more explanation]

Where mjn has a link in his email, I had a "button" (img link) with
Quote:
href="javascript:ol('http://www.ebayinfoweb.com/..../');"

Last edited by FruitBat; 07-06-2006 at 6:41 PM.
FruitBat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 6:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
ash
Distinguished Member
 
ash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 10,034
Thanks: Gave 630, Got 420
usually on GoogleMail, a message comes on the top that this could be a spoof email. So I never get fooled
__________________
Batman Begins at IMAX!
ash is offline   Reply With Quote



Bookmarks

Tags
ebay, email, latest, scam
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 7:56 PM.

AV Forums
Optimised for Firefox.
RSS Feed
AVForums.com is owned and operated by M2N Limited.
Copyright © 2000-2009 M2N E. & O. E.
Global Gold
Web Hosting