 | | |
09-10-2009, 5:18 AM
|
#1 (permalink)
| | New Member
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: Gave 9, Got 0 | have you heard of audiohub uk
looking at some 50" plasmas and they have some really good prices on their site.i have never heard of them so not sure if i can trust them...any info much appreciated.... |
| |
09-10-2009, 6:49 AM
|
#2 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 313
Thanks: Gave 16, Got 28 | Re: have you heard of audiohub uk
If it is a fraud, it looks a really good one. The site looks ok and checkout appears secure. I'm no expert on this so it would be nice to see if others have had good experiences with them.
|
| |
09-10-2009, 10:27 AM
|
#3 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 167
Thanks: Gave 16, Got 17 | Re: have you heard of audiohub uk
Difficult to say, their prices don't look outrageously low like a lot of these scam websites.
You could always contact your local trading standards to see if they have any complaints against them or even one of the manufactures to see if they are authorised dealers of UK stock.
|
| |
09-10-2009, 10:29 AM
|
#4 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 357
Thanks: Gave 17, Got 26 | Re: have you heard of audiohub uk
They sell the 42PQ6000 at £430, the 50PQ6000 at £565 and the BD370 at £109, which is very cheap, but maybe also worryingly cheap TBH.
__________________
LG 50PQ6000
LG BD390
Virgin V+ HD
|
| |
09-10-2009, 8:02 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
| | Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009 Location: Darlington
Posts: 1,183
Thanks: Gave 104, Got 86 | Re: have you heard of audiohub uk
Hi,
I don't like the look of this one and the evidence seems to confirm it.
Business Address -
Registrant:
Property Look
Property Look
9 Southbank Court
Lancing
worthing
BN15 8LQ
GB domains@ekmsystems.co.uk
Domain Name: audiohubuk.com
Source - audiohubuk.com Whois - audio hubuk - Who.is Text and HTML look sloppy, I would bet that the layout is a rip-off. UK server but why is the business listed as Property Look, does the website sell any property?. I doubt they use Fedex or UPS for delivery, and that Shipping panel is clearly lifted from another site. I think even the damn Brand logos on the right have been copied. They don't even sell some of these Brands ie. Miele (German manufacturer of domestic goods). The links on the right hand frame don't work. They claim to sell musical instruments though. I used to play the Cello and looked up String Instruments, which showed nothing. String Instruments
It certainly looks like a scam site and the design is complete junk. They must also have quite large warehouses to manage all this stock.
Edit: Some of the Brand images are from Edoxa.co.uk, not this website. Bad news I'm afraid.
Bosch - https://www.edoxa.co.uk/images-btn/bosch-btn.jpg
Miele - https://www.edoxa.co.uk/images-btn/miele-btn.jpg
Nikon - https://www.edoxa.co.uk/images-btn/nikon-btn.jpg
Last edited by Bibby_83; 09-10-2009 at 8:45 PM.
|
| |
09-10-2009, 8:19 PM
|
#6 (permalink)
| | Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009 Location: Darlington
Posts: 1,183
Thanks: Gave 104, Got 86 | Re: have you heard of audiohub uk
Well, this seems to seal it - Has anybody ever bought from audiohubuk.com - HotUKDeals Forum Quote: |
ordered a SAMSUNG SM2333HD 23" Widescreen LCD Monitor for £189.99 from AudioHubUK today. Apart from refurbished stock, this was the best price online but it wasn't outrageously so. I paid with a Visa Debit from my current account but got suspicious when I didn't get a Visa verification check upon checking out. I also received an odd looking confirmation email from "brown2pro@aol.com" Don't know why I thought it was odd, it just didn't look right... I decided to try to call the company on the 'sales' contact number first and then 'customer services' number - in both cases I was told to call back during normal business hours (at 1445hrs on a Friday afternoon).
| They also seem to use email addresses which are no longer valid, and one link went to dalyeureka.com (look it up for info).
Last edited by Bibby_83; 09-10-2009 at 8:49 PM.
|
| |
09-10-2009, 8:45 PM
|
#7 (permalink)
| | Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 893
Thanks: Gave 269, Got 271 | Re: have you heard of audiohub uk
Moved from the Plasma Televisions forum.
__________________ Any opinions I express are my own & not those of AV Forums |
| |
13-10-2009, 9:20 AM
|
#8 (permalink)
| | New Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0 | Re: have you heard of audiohub uk
I am also starting to get highly suspicious about this company.
I placed an order for a Yamaha keyboard (it was around £60 cheaper than anywhere else) on 1st October and got an automated reply which read, inter alia: Quote:
Your Order Details...
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Description: Yamaha DGX-530 88-Key Graded Soft Touch Action
Digital Piano
Item Price: GBP 369.99
Qty: 1
Total: GBP 369.99
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sub Total: GBP 321.73
Tax @ 15%: GBP 48.26
Total: GBP 369.99
| Over a week later, I got a mysterious email from the same AOL address mentioned above, just telling me - without explanation - that my order had been cancelled.
I have emailed them twice asking them to contact me urgently and they have not done so on either occasion.
I have tried telephoning them (most recently at 10.10am this morning, a Tuesday) and I get a recorded message telling me to call back in normal office hours. I have left a message but don't expect a call back.
Looks like I need to place my order elsewhere.
Do you think I need to be contacting my credit card company to check there are no transactions going through? I notice they asked for my date of birth when I placed the order which now worries me a little...
Also Trading Standards...?
|
| |
13-10-2009, 9:32 AM
|
#9 (permalink)
| | Distinguished Member
Join Date: Nov 2001 Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 10,901
Thanks: Gave 1,159, Got 583 | Re: have you heard of audiohub uk
I would get onto my credit card company straight away and tell them about it. They have your card details and your date of birth now and your address so this could be a front for getting these details from people.
I hope I'm wrong!
__________________ I know the meaning of life, it doesn't help me a bit |
| |
13-10-2009, 9:37 AM
|
#10 (permalink)
| | New Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0 | Re: have you heard of audiohub uk
Thanks. I have just spoken to my credit card company and they have gone through all my transactions since 1st October with me, and there is nothing untoward.
I asked whether it was at risk if they try to put something through later and they told me that it would not be a problem, and I could just dispute.
I must admit, I'm not very happy about this and will be looking carefully at my statements when they come through.
Do you think I should be writing to Trading Standards?
What also p*sses me off is that this keyboard is for my son who has started piano lessons and needs the keyboard to practice his homework. I've now wasted two weeks and it looks like I'll have to drive to collect one as I should have had it a while ago ideally...
Grrr... thanks, folks.
|
| |
13-10-2009, 9:38 AM
|
#11 (permalink)
| | Distinguished Member
Join Date: Nov 2001 Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 10,901
Thanks: Gave 1,159, Got 583 | Re: have you heard of audiohub uk
They might also be able to use those details to set up an identity theft looking on the dark side of things.
__________________ I know the meaning of life, it doesn't help me a bit |
| |
13-10-2009, 9:49 AM
|
#12 (permalink)
| | New Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0 | Re: have you heard of audiohub uk
Yes, this is what worries me a little.
Is there anything I can do?
|
| |
13-10-2009, 9:58 AM
|
#13 (permalink)
| | New Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0 | Re: have you heard of audiohub uk
I have sent an email to Trading Standards at West Sussex County Council (since they provide a Worthing address). Anyone else affected might like to do the same.
You'll find the email address on this link: West Sussex County Council: About Trading Standards |
| |
13-10-2009, 12:39 PM
|
#14 (permalink)
| | New Member
Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: St.Albans
Posts: 17
Thanks: Gave 4, Got 0 | Re: have you heard of audiohub uk
Has anyone else ordered from here?
Just seen a TV which is £40 cheaper here than Pixmania (whom i would rather avoid using after seeing some reviews).
Advice anyone?
__________________ 24 Hours in a day; 24 beers in a crate . . . . coincedence?! |
| |
13-10-2009, 12:44 PM
|
#15 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 380
Thanks: Gave 38, Got 22 | Re: have you heard of audiohub uk
The website is ran through EKM Systems.
I have a company with EKM, if you've placed an order and it hasn't arrived, give EKM a ring to explain. They are very helpful.
|
| | | |