 |
|
28-07-2009, 5:21 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
|
|
Prominent Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,113
Thanks: Gave 185, Got 379
|
Fraud Alert - Easytobuythem.com
I just received a request (via both email and phone) to post this from a new AVF member who doesn't know how to post yet.
Note that there's another thread (now closed) in the Bargains and discounts section that also mentions the above company (and shows Whois site owner registration info etc.)
Easytobuythem.com - scam or great site?
"Bought £70.07 Flip Video Camcorder on 14 July 2009. Site would not accept my credit card so I used my wife's. I e-mailed the site to ask as to why my card had not worked - no reply. After three days I contacted site to see where my camcorder was - no reply. I Googled the site and found your comments. I then rang the Manchester telephone number - out of order. I then rang Merseyside Trading Standards who logged the incident but said I had to wait 30 days. Today I contacted the property agency who manages Burlington House (Company address); they had no record of the company. I then rang the site manager at Crosby Road North - no record, and they have had a lot of enquiries. My wife then rang the credit card company and fraudulent debits have gone through since the 14 July. Case now being handled by their fraud department, card now cancelled. I have contacted Merseyside Police and they have logged the incident and are awaiting contact from card fraud department."
Chris Muriel, Manchester
Last edited by Chris Muriel; 28-07-2009 at 5:53 PM.
|
|
|
31-07-2009, 3:54 PM
|
#2 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Essex
Posts: 97
Thanks: Gave 4, Got 1
|
Re: Fraud Alert - Easytobuythem.com
My brief experience with easytobuythem -
Having used Google shopping for years with success, I was looking to buy a Garmin Edge 305. easytobuythem came up with the best price, which I am now a little embarrassed to admit, sucked me in!
I discovered to my delight that they were also doing two Canon lenses I have been saving up for. I placed my order for the three items and e-mailed my mates, telling them I have saved myself £500.
Having been a very sceptical and cautious buyer in the past, bells should have rung before I placed the order but that night I did not sleep well and first thing in the morning I e-mailed the company and asked them to authenticate themselves - no reply. I then tried telephoning them - unobtainable. I then took the precaution of phoning my bank and cancelling my card so at least the money would not go from my account.
Four days have now passed and my order is still "Processing" - it is my belief that this is a fradulent website set up to steal card details which presumably will be used elsewhere - this is confirmed in another AV post which comes up on a google search for easytobuythem.
I took the option of reporting this website to fraudhelpline.org but all I got was a bombardment of e-mails and texts!!
What body is available to quash these sites? They are still there - all you have to do is type into Google shopping the model number of a common item and look for the cheap prices that have "new" next to them - there they are, ready to steal your money.
I hope this post will help protect you, however I MUST say that I have used the Internet to shop now for ten years or so and have NEVER been scammed before - and believe me I have shopped a lot.
|
|
|
31-07-2009, 4:03 PM
|
#3 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 2,098
Thanks: Gave 58, Got 198
|
Re: Fraud Alert - Easytobuythem.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuzzyFreak
I took the option of reporting this website to fraudhelpline.org
|
Why would you do that? Did you read the disclaimer at the bottom of their site:
Quote:
The Fraud Helpline is in no way affiliated with any government department/services.
This service will require you to call a premium rate number at £1.50 per minute.
Please be advised that the information the service provides is available for free in the public domain.
|
|
|
|
31-07-2009, 4:05 PM
|
#4 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: Gave 201, Got 113
|
Re: Fraud Alert - Easytobuythem.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Muriel
I just received a request (via both email and phone) to post this from a new AVF member who doesn't know how to post yet.
|
I hope you didnt leave them hanging wondering how to post still 
|
|
|
31-07-2009, 6:32 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Evesham
Posts: 291
Thanks: Gave 88, Got 114
|
Re: Fraud Alert - Easytobuythem.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Muriel
I just received a request (via both email and phone) to post this from a new AVF member who doesn't know how to post yet.
Note that there's another thread (now closed) in the Bargains and discounts section that also mentions the above company (and shows Whois site owner registration info etc.)
Easytobuythem.com - scam or great site?
"Bought £70.07 Flip Video Camcorder on 14 July 2009. Site would not accept my credit card so I used my wife's. I e-mailed the site to ask as to why my card had not worked - no reply. After three days I contacted site to see where my camcorder was - no reply. I Googled the site and found your comments. I then rang the Manchester telephone number - out of order. I then rang Merseyside Trading Standards who logged the incident but said I had to wait 30 days. Today I contacted the property agency who manages Burlington House (Company address); they had no record of the company. I then rang the site manager at Crosby Road North - no record, and they have had a lot of enquiries. My wife then rang the credit card company and fraudulent debits have gone through since the 14 July. Case now being handled by their fraud department, card now cancelled. I have contacted Merseyside Police and they have logged the incident and are awaiting contact from card fraud department."
Chris Muriel, Manchester
|
Have you cancelled your credit card, after all you had tried to use it.
|
|
|
31-07-2009, 9:55 PM
|
#6 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Essex
Posts: 97
Thanks: Gave 4, Got 1
|
Re: Fraud Alert - Easytobuythem.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bursar
Why would you do that?
|
Because I thought I was doing the right thing. Thanks for your "in"valid input to this post.
|
|
|
01-08-2009, 10:06 AM
|
#7 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Burnham, Bucks
Posts: 241
Thanks: Gave 20, Got 62
|
Re: Fraud Alert - Easytobuythem.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuzzyFreak
... I then took the precaution of phoning my bank and cancelling my card so at least the money would not go from my account.
...
|
Are you talking about a debit or a credit card here? Either one has pitfalls: - If it's a credit card and the transaction was valid, ie to a company which is not yet blacklisted by the card company, then simply cancelling the card will not cancel the transaction. It's a common myth that transactions cannot be made against a cancelled credit card. You have to cancel the transaction with the vendor and/or flag it with the card company as possibly fraudulent or at least unfulfilled. They will put it into a holding status so you won't have to pay it. Ultimately, because it's a credit card, you have legal protection on amounts over £100.
- If it's a debit card, you don't have the legal protection, though I believe some banks offer an equivalent. The money will probably already have left your account and you'll have to try and get it back direct from the vendor. Even if it hasn't left the account, I believe it's not possible to stop a debit card payment. In general, it's not a good idea to use debit cards online.
|
|
|
02-08-2009, 5:56 PM
|
#8 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Darlington
Posts: 1,174
Thanks: Gave 102, Got 86
|
Re: Fraud Alert - Easytobuythem.com
This website does look quite similar in HTML Layout to the others mentioned on the LCD TV forum ie. Protechstore, Newtechlink, Techsohos, BigProShop, Marketwal, TechKnoxes (probably more to come)
Yahoo Server comes up again along with Melbourne IT. Why would a UK business use a US Server?
I think it would be a good idea to have one thread with records of all these sites since they are probably related. I suppose that depends on whether this goes against Forum rules or manners though.
Last edited by Bibby_83; 02-08-2009 at 5:59 PM.
|
|
|
10-08-2009, 6:51 PM
|
#9 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 106
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 1
|
Re: Fraud Alert - Easytobuythem.com
Until now, we only had suspicions that this was a fradulent site. Now it has been confirmed that this site should be avoided!
And at least when you google easytobuythem.com - the first hit is a link to this very page, so anyone who is even a little bit cautious will know to avoid it.
Stick with the classifieds to get your bargains!!
|
|
|
10-08-2009, 10:02 PM
|
#10 (permalink)
|
|
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,608
Thanks: Gave 256, Got 280
|
Re: Fraud Alert - Easytobuythem.com
Everything priced in GPB instead of GBP looks suspicious for a start.
I really don't get how seemingly savvy internet shoppers still get roped in on sites like this.
__________________
A man's life in these parts often depends on a mere scrap of information.
|
|
|
| |