TVONICS DTR-HV250 setup wifi with WIFI dongle

ace0001uk

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'd like to know if there is anyone out there that has been able to setup the TVONICS DTR-HV250 on wifi network using an unofficial usb wifi dongle i.e. not the one supplied by TVONICS? If so is can you provide me with the steps you took to get this working.

Many thanks

Sorry you've had no replies, but you might fare better in the correct section, as this has nothing to do with Freeview. :)

— As an Amazon Associate, AVForums earns from qualifying purchases —
This is just the information I was looking for having just bought a HV250 and wanting to use the iplayer service.

Just one question that someone may answer. The recommended dongle is 54Mbps which seems quite low? There are very similar dongles with 150Mbps and I was wondering if that would give me a better picture quality? I'm not an expert on this sort of thing but someone out there may be.

USB Wireless 150Mbps WiFi 802.11n/g/b LAN Adapter Card | eBay

Thanks
Dave

-- As an eBay Associate, AVForums earns from qualifying purchases --
-- As an eBay Associate, AVForums earns from qualifying purchases --
Thanks for that, it's definitely helpful.

What picture quality do you get on iPlayer?

I notice the one on Amazon (link lower down the page) has a directional antenna which may help with getting a better signal?

I'm still curious as to whether a higher data transmission rate (150Mbps) would be beneficial.

Standard iplayer quality is not great but it improves when you select higher quality option. That gives quite close to a standard freeview picture quality IMHO.

I assume, that as Tvonics only sell a 54Mbps USB dongle this must be able to conform to freeview standards?

Just to say my router is within 1.5m of the dongle and my connection is 10meg Virgin.

Last edited:
I think the adapter rayowl has is identical to the Tvonics dongle.
The dongle I quoted is the same but with an additional external antenna.