AVForums

Our philosophy in our forums, reviews, podcasts and feature videos is to promote audio and visual excellence by gathering and sharing the best information and resources available.

Help

To begin please visit our help section »

Not a Member Yet?

It only takes a minute to start enjoying the benefits of AVForums membership, and it's free!

Member Log in

is this for real .?

Post Reply
Old 25-10-2009, 11:30 AM   #1
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Experience Points:
6,217, Level: 18
Points: 6,217, Level: 18 Points: 6,217, Level: 18 Points: 6,217, Level: 18
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 2, Got 4
Posts: 430
is this for real .?

New GHD IV Salon Styler | ghd RARE | GHD Pretty Pink

looking to buy wife some ghds for xmas how can i check out this site as any one use this site before . if its real then they are a bargain . what do you think. thanks for any help
  Quote
Old 25-10-2009, 1:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Bonzer Jaguar's Avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Newark On Trent
Experience Points:
1,248, Level: 7
Points: 1,248, Level: 7 Points: 1,248, Level: 7 Points: 1,248, Level: 7
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
Thanks: Gave 67, Got 47
Posts: 937
Re: is this for real .?

Don't think so mate, putting the website in here Website Checker - verify ghd approved online retailers brings up a warning...
  Quote
Old 25-10-2009, 7:19 PM   #3
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Experience Points:
6,217, Level: 18
Points: 6,217, Level: 18 Points: 6,217, Level: 18 Points: 6,217, Level: 18
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 2, Got 4
Posts: 430
Re: is this for real .?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAJDavidson View Post
Don't think so mate, putting the website in here Website Checker - verify ghd approved online retailers brings up a warning...
i think you may be right but 149 views and only one comment..??
  Quote
Old 29-10-2009, 8:16 PM   #4
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Experience Points:
2,938, Level: 12
Points: 2,938, Level: 12 Points: 2,938, Level: 12 Points: 2,938, Level: 12
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 19, Got 9
Posts: 164
Re: is this for real .?

A quick whois on the site show it to be registered to:

Registrant:
Organization : xu jian pin
Name : xujian pin
Address : HONG KONG
City : HONGKONG
Province/State : Hongkong
Country : cn
Postal Code : 100075

Yet the company appear to be based in Glasgow according to their contact us page - draw your own conclusions!
  Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 7:31 PM   #5
New Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Experience Points:
1,032, Level: 7
Points: 1,032, Level: 7 Points: 1,032, Level: 7 Points: 1,032, Level: 7
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 2, Got 1
Posts: 11
Re: is this for real .?

check out the 'Conditions of Use' page (links at the bottom of the site)

It is all just copied from another website (called likeyourhair.net).. which is exactly the same site (looks, products etc).. so I would saw its a load of scammers setting up lots of different sites trying to get people to buy stuff from them

checking the whois on that as well

Registrar: XIN NET TECHNOLOGY CORPORATION
Whois Server: whois.paycenter.com.cn
Referral URL: xinnet. com
Status: OK

Expiration Date: 2010-08-14
Creation Date: 2009-08-14
Last Update Date: 2009-08-14

(note the creation date in bold)

Avoid both like the plague if you ask me
  Quote
Old 23-11-2009, 11:44 PM   #6
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Experience Points:
2,514, Level: 11
Points: 2,514, Level: 11 Points: 2,514, Level: 11 Points: 2,514, Level: 11
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0
Posts: 4
any ghd for 50 or 60 quid is a scam. you can get the mini for about 80 but most ghd are at least 120
  Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 8:07 AM   #7
Member
 
DaveBhoy's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hamilton
Experience Points:
1,578, Level: 9
Points: 1,578, Level: 9 Points: 1,578, Level: 9 Points: 1,578, Level: 9
Activity: 11.1%
Activity: 11.1% Activity: 11.1% Activity: 11.1%
Thanks: Gave 52, Got 24
Posts: 751
Have you looked at the "news" page ??

News
This store is for demo purpose only. No order will be proceed.

Make your own mind up from that !!
  Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 5:03 PM   #8
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northampton
Experience Points:
1,472, Level: 8
Points: 1,472, Level: 8 Points: 1,472, Level: 8 Points: 1,472, Level: 8
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 27, Got 32
Posts: 911
Was going to post the whois information, registered in Hong Kong so a cheap rip off copy. We own a hair salon, we won't stock GHD because to the trade they sell for around £90

If I could get them for £60 I would buy them by the pallet load (genuine ones that is)
  Quote
Post Reply



Thread information and display options
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off