Español Français Deutsch Italiano Nederlands Svenska Dansk Japanese Chinese (Simplified) Russian
 
AVForums.com twitter AVForums is a member of CEDIA. THX certified reviewer.  Click for more information. AVForums reviewers are ISF Certified.  Click for more information.
 
The UK's biggest and best home entertainment electronics forums  
3.5 million visitors each month


Forums Register Blogs Information Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   AVForums.com > Bargains and Discount Codes > Electrical Bargains and Discount Codes

Latest AVForums Movie Reviews
Vengeance Blu-ray ReviewHellboy Animated: Sword Of Storms/Blood and Iron Blu-ray ReviewThe Andromeda Strain - Motion Picture Soundtrack CD ReviewMulan Blu-ray ReviewJulie & Julia Blu-ray Review
Last Action Hero Blu-ray ReviewBlack Dynamite Blu-ray ReviewProphecy - Music From The Motion Picture CD ReviewHarry Potter And The Chamber Of Secrets Blu-ray ReviewBodyguards and Assassins Blu-ray Review

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Great M&K Comeback (Part 2) Dav1dF Speakers 313 Today 1:40 PM

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20-07-2009, 5:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 1
Easytobuythem.com - scam or great site?

Although there was a thread started it was 'closed' before any answers were found.

The address:

EasyToBuyThem.com

The prices are... too good to be true really, but is it a scam? It has one of the highest result rates through Google shopping, although all of the entries are out of date. If you go to the site, there are plenty of items at amazing prices, but the only way to pay is via Authorize.net, the phone number is a Manchester number even though the offices are supposedly in Liverpool - but most worryingly of all, if you type the site name into any major search engine.... NOTHING comes up >.> a bit of a worry, no reviews nothing - the copyright is from 2007 and still nothing on the net? Hmmm.

SO, if ANYONE has any experience with this site please post here, we would all love to use it if it is real.
ropeydonkey is offline  
Thanks from:
bubblie (28-07-2009)
Old 20-07-2009, 6:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Prominent Member
 
Chris Muriel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,468
Thanks: Gave 255, Got 438
Re: Easytobuythem.com - scam or great site?

I would never buy from a "sounds tooo good to be true" vendor !
(Fools are too easily parted from their hard earned money).

Comes up via a reverse IP search as :
Domain EASYTOBUYTHEM.COM [ Traceroute RBL/DNSBL lookup ]
Registrar MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE
Registrar URL Domain Name Registration, Search Engine Marketing, Web Hosting & Design
Whois server whois.melbourneit.com
Created 14-Jun-2009
Updated 14-Jun-2009
Expires 14-Jun-2010
Time Left 328 days 5 hours 50 minutes
Status clientTransferProhibited
DNS servers YNS1.YAHOO.COM 66.218.71.205
YNS2.YAHOO.COM 66.196.84.168

EASYTOBUYTHEM.COM - Geo Information
IP Address 216.39.57.104
Host easytobuythem.com
Location US, United States
City Sunnyvale, CA 94089
Organization AltaVista Company
ISP AltaVista Company
AS Number AS14779
Latitude 37°42'49" North
Longitude 122°00'74" West

And only been registered in mid-June.
Compare with the thread on Protechstore.com - the Sunnyvale certainly rings a bell from that thread.

Chris Muriel, Manchester
Chris Muriel is offline  
Old 20-07-2009, 7:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 1
Re: Easytobuythem.com - scam or great site?

hmm - good info BUT

my logic was that whilst there was no positive info on the web about this site, at the same time there was no sign of people screaming "I was scammed!!" so I don't know.

And I agree, I don't like to go with 'Too good to be true' sites but if I bought an item elsewhere for a lot more money and found it this site was legit... I would feel a fool

Looking at the items listed on it, they tend to be 'last-gen', so either its just a load of stuff being sold off on the cheap, or its a clever con not listing top end items and going for big fast money.
ropeydonkey is offline  
Old 20-07-2009, 7:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 1
Re: Easytobuythem.com - scam or great site?

Just finished reading that thread:

http://www.avforums.com/forums/lcd-t...ore-legit.html

and yes, I see a LOT of similarities, I hope people Google the site's name before buying anything to at least read these posts!

If anyone has any dealings with this site though, would be nice to hear them
ropeydonkey is offline  
Old 21-07-2009, 2:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Prominent Member
 
marty2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Great Yarmouth
Posts: 3,251
Thanks: Gave 5, Got 171
Re: Easytobuythem.com - scam or great site?

Even if it was legit, you'd still get stung by customs, warranty problems (they do abide sometimes as Panasonic did with my Brother's hd video camera bought from the USA) and voltage.

Buy from the UK/Europe (only vat in that country+no customs) and be safe in the knowledge that you have been ripped off with the price, promotion cash back, 0870 phone numbers, inferior support and smaller warranty.
__________________
Respect Ma Auth-ora-tah
marty2005 is offline  



Bookmarks

Tags
easytobuythemcom, great, scam, site
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:30 PM.


AVForums
Optimised for Firefox.
RSS Feed
AVForums.com is owned and operated by M2N Limited.
Copyright © 2000-2010 M2N E. & O. E.
Global Gold
Web Hosting