AVForums

Our philosophy in our forums, reviews, podcasts and feature videos is to promote audio and visual excellence by gathering and sharing the best information and resources available.

Help

To begin please visit our help section »

Not a Member Yet?

It only takes a minute to start enjoying the benefits of AVForums membership, and it's free!

Member Log in

easytobuythem.com

Thread Closed
Old 10-07-2009, 2:44 PM   #1
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Experience Points:
699, Level: 5
Points: 699, Level: 5 Points: 699, Level: 5 Points: 699, Level: 5
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 1
Posts: 134
easytobuythem.com

Has anyone had any experience buying from this website, EasyToBuyThem.com ?

They are selling Harman Kardon AVR 147 for only £66.76 with free shipping from the USA?! They are selling a few other Harman Kardon amps that I quite like the sound of, for similiar prices... They are based in New York, but the website address is listed in Liverpool (UK) and the copyright is dated 2007.

I really want to buy this receiver, as even on ebay I see it selling second hand for £150 +

They advertise a lot of different electronic goods, most of them at heavily discounted prices.

Anyone had any experience, please let me know, otherwise I'll stay clear. (A google search came up with nothing - not even bad experiences)
 
Old 10-07-2009, 2:55 PM   #2
Eminent Member
 
Ian J's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Midlands
Experience Points:
71,654, Level: 65
Points: 71,654, Level: 65 Points: 71,654, Level: 65 Points: 71,654, Level: 65
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
Blog Entries: 3
Thanks: Gave 3,114, Got 4,720
Posts: 23,949
Re: easytobuythem.com

If they are shipped from USA don't forget that you will have to pay duty and Vat on top of the quoted price.

Make sure that the voltage is adjustable for UK mains too
 
Old 10-07-2009, 3:18 PM   #3
Prominent Member
 
CraigofScotland's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Experience Points:
6,837, Level: 19
Points: 6,837, Level: 19 Points: 6,837, Level: 19 Points: 6,837, Level: 19
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 574, Got 440
Posts: 4,386
Re: easytobuythem.com

hmmm if this is legit, i want this camera
 
Old 10-07-2009, 4:06 PM   #4
Member
 
BlueChopper's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leicestershire
Experience Points:
5,531, Level: 17
Points: 5,531, Level: 17 Points: 5,531, Level: 17 Points: 5,531, Level: 17
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 23, Got 14
Posts: 421
Re: easytobuythem.com

Correct me if I am wrong but the address is http: (not https: ) and I can't see a padlock on my browser window. That is enough to put me off.
 
Old 10-07-2009, 9:24 PM   #5
Member
 
DoktorAvalanche's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Experience Points:
2,906, Level: 12
Points: 2,906, Level: 12 Points: 2,906, Level: 12 Points: 2,906, Level: 12
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 9, Got 24
Posts: 217
Re: easytobuythem.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayrton View Post
Correct me if I am wrong but the address is http: (not https: ) and I can't see a padlock on my browser window. That is enough to put me off.
Also happy to be proved wrong, but most sites are non secure until you get to the checkout -who would hack what items you are buying?

Mind you a google of their name throws up that the site was only registered on the 15th of June this year...!

So it seems they have just started out, is this a honey trap site?

Any one brave to try using paypal for payment?
For me the Logitech stuff is very tempting at their prices!
 
Old 10-07-2009, 10:03 PM   #6
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Experience Points:
699, Level: 5
Points: 699, Level: 5 Points: 699, Level: 5 Points: 699, Level: 5
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 1
Posts: 134
Re: easytobuythem.com

glad to see some people are interested in this site... I am hoping one of you will be my guinea pig.
Have to admit, I didn't think about plugs... should be easy enough just to replace the 2 pin with a 3 pin... but I'll have to check about voltage - usually these things work all over right?

Even at 50% duty, it would still be a bargain I think.

So only started at 15th June, but says copyright 2007?? sounds a bit dodgy

They don't actually accept paypal, and the only payment option is claimed to be with authorize.net ... I have emailed authorized.net to check their affiliation... and will update when I hear back from them...

Come on users of this site, speak up! I want to get buying!
 
Old 10-07-2009, 10:22 PM   #7
Member
 
DoktorAvalanche's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Experience Points:
2,906, Level: 12
Points: 2,906, Level: 12 Points: 2,906, Level: 12 Points: 2,906, Level: 12
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 9, Got 24
Posts: 217
Re: easytobuythem.com

Why did you think they were American?
Take a look at the "about us bit", their address is:

Burlington House Crosby Road, Liverpool L22 0PJ , United Kingdom

I really can not call this?
 
Old 11-07-2009, 7:54 AM   #8
Eminent Member
 
Ian J's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Midlands
Experience Points:
71,654, Level: 65
Points: 71,654, Level: 65 Points: 71,654, Level: 65 Points: 71,654, Level: 65
Activity: 0.8%
Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8% Activity: 0.8%
Blog Entries: 3
Thanks: Gave 3,114, Got 4,720
Posts: 23,949
Re: easytobuythem.com

The website is owned by someone in America and has only been online for a month and the currency is GPB so it obviously hasn't been proof read by a Brit

Caveat emptor
 
Old 11-07-2009, 8:24 AM   #9
Founder
 
Stuart Wright's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Birmingham
Experience Points:
146,944, Level: 92
Points: 146,944, Level: 92 Points: 146,944, Level: 92 Points: 146,944, Level: 92
Activity: 18.2%
Activity: 18.2% Activity: 18.2% Activity: 18.2%
Blog Entries: 21
Thanks: Gave 902, Got 4,628
Posts: 9,000
Re: easytobuythem.com

For heaven's sake, guys, stop risking your cash by penny pinching for a few quid with unknown (and in this case obviously dubious) sites and buy from someone reputable.
 
Old 11-07-2009, 8:30 PM   #10
Member
 
BlueChopper's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leicestershire
Experience Points:
5,531, Level: 17
Points: 5,531, Level: 17 Points: 5,531, Level: 17 Points: 5,531, Level: 17
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 23, Got 14
Posts: 421
Re: easytobuythem.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shazzam View Post
Also happy to be proved wrong, but most sites are non secure until you get to the checkout -who would hack what items you are buying?
I did just that. I created a bogus account to see if I could get the padlock to appear. I couldn't. And since I couldn't, I was pretty happy that I hadn't given them any of my personal detail.
 
Thanks from:
a_oik@ymail.com (23-07-2009)
Thread Closed



Thread information and display options
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off