AVForums.com is the UK's biggest & best home consumer electronics discussion resource


Go Back   AVForums.com > Home Entertainment Players and Recorders > DVD Recorders, Recording and Media

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14-09-2003, 9:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
cuewoz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
PANASONIC DMRE100 for £337.99!!

check out this
http://www.hiwayhifi.com/site/produc...192&prod=21080

Is this a real deal It seems too cheap.
(correct at 10.30 am )
  Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 9:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Distinguished Member
 
Rasczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 12,880
iTrader: (17)
Thanks: Gave 420, Got 533
Blog Entries: 1
I think they've made a mistake - they've mixed up the prices of the E100 and JVC DRM1. Doesn't the law say if you order it though then they have to deliver on the price*? Your getting around £500 off the price if you do...

[EDIT]
Apparantly not it seems - companies will normally deliver on the price but are not obliged to. If they do raise the price there is no obligation ot buy at the new price so might be worth a try...

Last edited by Rasczak; 14-09-2003 at 10:00 AM.
Rasczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 10:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,159
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 5
Ring them up.

The JVC DRM1 is showing as £896 and the HS2 as £620,so it's odd.

Last edited by Wayne Moule; 14-09-2003 at 10:52 AM.
Wayne Moule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
IvorBigun
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool


Just ordered one.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 11:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
sdh500
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I put the item in my shopping basket and this is the message I got when I clicked Continue With Secure Checkout:

Safari could not verify the identity of the website "www.hiwayhifi.com". The website’s certificate is invalid. You might be connecting to a website that is pretending to be “www.hiwayhifi.com” which could put your confidential information at risk. Would you like to continue anyway?

As Safari is a Mac browser I cancelled and went in under Internet explorer and got the following message:

"Unable to establish a secure connection to "www.hiwayhifi.com". There is a problem with the security certificate from that site. (The identity certificate name is not correct). The information you view and send will be readable to others while in transit and it may not go to the intended party." This message is accompanied by a large image of a padlock with a thick red line going through it!!!

These are quite worrying messages to say the least. Needless to say, I didn't go any further - but has anyone ever bought from them before?
  Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 11:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Distinguished Member
 
Rasczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 12,880
iTrader: (17)
Thanks: Gave 420, Got 533
Blog Entries: 1
Maybe they realised the mistake and disabled the server?
Rasczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 11:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
IvorBigun
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool


My order would appear to have gone through with no problems.
I had no warning messages about security or anything.
Have just received an e-mail from their customer services confirming order and price and saying my order is being processed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 12:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Distinguished Member
 
Rasczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 12,880
iTrader: (17)
Thanks: Gave 420, Got 533
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Have just received an e-mail from their customer services confirming order and price and saying my order is being processed.
Well if it all goes through you have got a bargain - the UK's best DVD recorder for less than the RRP of the cheapest in the range!
Rasczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 12:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
sdh500
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'll try by phone in the morning, see what happens.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 1:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
calibos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Ireland
Posts: 816
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: Gave 8, Got 16
Quote:
Originally posted by Rasczak
Well if it all goes through you have got a bargain - the UK's best DVD recorder for less than the RRP of the cheapest in the range!
Or he's just given his credit card number to a scammer!
__________________
Keith D.
calibos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 1:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Distinguished Member
 
Rasczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 12,880
iTrader: (17)
Thanks: Gave 420, Got 533
Blog Entries: 1
The site is part of the 'BT Trust' setup - and it says it's details are still valid - which would suggest it hasn't been hacked. And Credit Card protection legislation should preven him suffer any loss. It does just look like a geniune mistake which was probably detected and further orders blocked.
Rasczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 2:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: west country
Posts: 559
iTrader: (2)
Thanks: Gave 4, Got 10
Rasczak,I have orderd one also with no problems.WE WILL SEE THEIR RESPONCE TO-MORROW
alwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 2:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Distinguished Member
 
Rasczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 12,880
iTrader: (17)
Thanks: Gave 420, Got 533
Blog Entries: 1
Good luck! I hope they don't notice - you'll be getting a great deal. I wonder if anyone has taken advantage and brought the JVC at £890
Rasczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 2:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
Prominent Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4,664
iTrader: (149)
Thanks: Gave 22, Got 33
Just worked for me. Don't need one but as I have an unused Philips 880 I thought at this price I'll sell that on and put this one in the rack instead.
Messiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 3:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Member
 
redmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: ESSEX, UK
Posts: 670
iTrader: (20)
Thanks: Gave 27, Got 31
Also just placed an order.
Lets keep our fingers crossed.
The site looked like a genuine encrypted site so I reckon it is a genuine mistake.
Can somebody clarify the following:
If they realise that there is an undercharge, can they take the difference from my credit card without permission?
If I decline permission will they refund the £349.00 I have given permission for them to take.
I have read on previous threads that they do not have any legal obligation to honour the price if it is wrong.

Cheers
redmax is offline   Reply With Quote

Bookmarks

Tags
dmre100, panasonic


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT. The time now is 7:46 AM.

AV ForumsOptimised for Firefox.
RSS Feed
AVForums.com is owned and operated by M2N Limited.
Copyright © 2000-2009 M2N E. & O. E.
Global Gold
Web Hosting