AVForums

Our philosophy in our forums, reviews, podcasts and feature videos is to promote audio and visual excellence by gathering and sharing the best information and resources available.

Help

To begin please visit our help section »

Not a Member Yet?

It only takes a minute to start enjoying the benefits of AVForums membership, and it's free!

Member Log in

Does this look authentic to you?

Post Reply
Old 05-03-2009, 10:36 AM   #1
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Experience Points:
5,954, Level: 18
Points: 5,954, Level: 18 Points: 5,954, Level: 18 Points: 5,954, Level: 18
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 113, Got 63
Posts: 259
Does this look authentic to you?

Hi chaps,

I need some new video editing software as the magix software I currently have doesn't work in my new pc (won't recognise the camera even though windows does).

Im tired magix's of instability so was wondering about "Sony Vegas Movie Studio 8 Platinum Edition". Its available on PlayTrade for £24.99(!) which is half the price of anywhere else.

Would you risk it? (and more importantly is it as good as the reviews make out?)

Play.com (UK) : Sony Vegas Movie Studio DVD 8 Platinum Edition : Computing - Free Delivery

TIA..
  Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 11:24 AM   #2
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Experience Points:
2,190, Level: 10
Points: 2,190, Level: 10 Points: 2,190, Level: 10 Points: 2,190, Level: 10
Activity: 0.4%
Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4% Activity: 0.4%
Thanks: Gave 1, Got 3
Posts: 59
Re: Does this look authentic to you?

Sony Vegas is an excellent editing system and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

As for Play.com, they claim to have won the Which award for the best on-line retailer and it might be worth checking this out with Which. If it's true, there wouldn't seem to be much of a risk in going for it (and I see they also offer a telephone number so perhaps a call and a few perinent questions might resolve any doubts you might have.)

Richard Jones
  Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:20 PM   #3
Conspicuous Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Experience Points:
21,528, Level: 35
Points: 21,528, Level: 35 Points: 21,528, Level: 35 Points: 21,528, Level: 35
Activity: 22.3%
Activity: 22.3% Activity: 22.3% Activity: 22.3%
Thanks: Gave 4, Got 1,393
Posts: 9,738
Re: Does this look authentic to you?

Play.com has been around for years and I have ordered 100's of DVD's, CD's, electronics etc from them and they have never been a problem.
Great track record as far as I am concerned.
  Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:49 PM   #4
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, centre of the universe
Experience Points:
20,679, Level: 34
Points: 20,679, Level: 34 Points: 20,679, Level: 34 Points: 20,679, Level: 34
Activity: 10.1%
Activity: 10.1% Activity: 10.1% Activity: 10.1%
Thanks: Gave 105, Got 467
Posts: 5,824
Re: Does this look authentic to you?

Agreed, Play is a company you can trust. Ive been dealing with them for about 15 years.
They are based in Jersey so they can sell a bit lower than mainland based companies.
That price seems reasonable. I paid £29 from Amazon last year for version 8.
Its a good program and seems to run quite well on my PC's, much better than Studio 11 and 12.
  Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 1:35 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mr Lazy's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rochester, Kent
Experience Points:
5,051, Level: 16
Points: 5,051, Level: 16 Points: 5,051, Level: 16 Points: 5,051, Level: 16
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 101, Got 148
Posts: 1,025
Re: Does this look authentic to you?

Just to point out that this is sold by a Playtrade trader, not play.com themselves (just like Amazon marketplace), though they have 97% positive feedback out of 2238 ratings in the last 12 months.

This trader also sells on ebay and has 99.6% positive feedback (it so happens I was looking at Sony Vegas on ebay just this morning), which sounds good, but it's 9 negative ratings in the last month.

eBay Feedback Profile for gamewholesaleltd

Remember that Vegas MSP is on v9 now (I'm sure you knew that).
  Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 1:47 PM   #6
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, centre of the universe
Experience Points:
20,679, Level: 34
Points: 20,679, Level: 34 Points: 20,679, Level: 34 Points: 20,679, Level: 34
Activity: 10.1%
Activity: 10.1% Activity: 10.1% Activity: 10.1%
Thanks: Gave 105, Got 467
Posts: 5,824
Re: Does this look authentic to you?

I must admit i didn't follow the link, i was just commenting on Play.

And yes, V9 is better.
  Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 2:38 PM   #7
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Experience Points:
5,954, Level: 18
Points: 5,954, Level: 18 Points: 5,954, Level: 18 Points: 5,954, Level: 18
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 113, Got 63
Posts: 259
Re: Does this look authentic to you?

Thanks for your replies. Yes its a playtrade sale which is why I posted it, wouldn't have a problem with play themselves.

And.. umm no I didn't know about version 9 so i'll look into that instead.

Thanks

edit:
then again for the price I might just go for this instead...

Last edited by nitelife; 05-03-2009 at 2:41 PM.
  Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 3:52 PM   #8
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Experience Points:
4,557, Level: 16
Points: 4,557, Level: 16 Points: 4,557, Level: 16 Points: 4,557, Level: 16
Activity: 1.0%
Activity: 1.0% Activity: 1.0% Activity: 1.0%
Thanks: Gave 44, Got 110
Posts: 1,055
Re: Does this look authentic to you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitelife View Post
Thanks for your replies. Yes its a playtrade sale which is why I posted it, wouldn't have a problem with play themselves.

And.. umm no I didn't know about version 9 so i'll look into that instead.

Thanks

edit:
then again for the price I might just go for this instead...
It's worth watching Amazon, particularly before their quarter ends. They seem to operate a 'phew, figures a bit low this quarter, let's randomly chop prices for a couple of weeks' policy. I got my Mediastudio Platinum 9 on Dec 12th for £29. It's back up to £60 now.
  Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 3:54 PM   #9
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, centre of the universe
Experience Points:
20,679, Level: 34
Points: 20,679, Level: 34 Points: 20,679, Level: 34 Points: 20,679, Level: 34
Activity: 10.1%
Activity: 10.1% Activity: 10.1% Activity: 10.1%
Thanks: Gave 105, Got 467
Posts: 5,824
Re: Does this look authentic to you?

Thats how i got my MSP8. It was reduced for about two weeks then went back up.
  Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 7:35 AM   #10
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Experience Points:
5,954, Level: 18
Points: 5,954, Level: 18 Points: 5,954, Level: 18 Points: 5,954, Level: 18
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Thanks: Gave 113, Got 63
Posts: 259
Re: Does this look authentic to you?

Good idea, ill keep an eye on Amazon. In the meantime ive downloaded the trial of the new Magix MEP (it doesnt look too bad and seems to work).

So will use that in the meantime.

  Quote
Post Reply

Powered by  
 Latest popular product prices
Kodak PlaySport Zx5 
7 prices from
 £79.99 Click to show/hide the offers

Sony DCR-SX45E 
4 prices from
 £189.99 Click to show/hide the offers

Toshiba Camileo H30 
1 price
 £107.00 Click to show/hide the offers

Samsung SMX-F50BN 
4 prices from
 £119.99 Click to show/hide the offers

Panasonic SDR-S70 
7 prices from
 £116.00 Click to show/hide the offers

Panasonic HX-DC1 
7 prices from
 £123.95 Click to show/hide the offers

JVC GZ-HM30 
6 prices from
 £144.99 Click to show/hide the offers

Sony DCR-SX21E 
2 prices from
 £149.99 Click to show/hide the offers

 Updated February 12th at 8:30pm. Prices include delivery.


Thread information and display options
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off