 |
|
|
17-09-2008, 7:59 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wirral
Posts: 44
Thanks: Gave 2, Got 0
|
''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
I've stuck it here as i'm interested in upgrading my ageing Sony amplifier (some 12 plus years old) to perhaps a RX-V1700, as this appears to offer the functionality I need (1080p upscaling, 3 in 1 out HDMI).
Looking around, the cheapest place by quite some way appears to be this looksmartpro online shop ( www.looksmartpro.com), at £336 for an rx-v1800 and £433 for an rx-v3800, both considerably below the other deals found through a quick google search. Admittedly they're the models on their way and so kind of stock clearance but it still seems like a hell of a deal compared to others...
Anyone used them to shop with before? All appearances seem genuine, a US based place but with european shipping offered etc. Can these deals be bettered?
Cheers
|
|
|
17-09-2008, 8:32 PM
|
#2 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 115
Thanks: Gave 5, Got 12
|
Re: ''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
From the moderator, a complete con website.
*****BEWARE*****
__________________
Toshiba 32WLT66S / Sony STR DA2400ES / KEF 2005.3 / Sky HD / Sony RDR-GX350 DVD Recorder / Xbox 360 + HD DVD Drive / Wii
|
|
|
17-09-2008, 10:15 PM
|
#3 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 640
Thanks: Gave 28, Got 80
|
Re: ''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
Just googling their name should answer your question, looks like a scam.
|
|
|
25-09-2008, 10:09 PM
|
#4 (permalink)
|
|
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0
|
Re: ''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
just thought i would add this i have been conned, i can not belive it, i am normally so security minded, i just want to let as many people know as possible and make sure it does not happen to anyone else. is there anything that can be done to try and track them down. can the police or will they do anything. i feel so sick inside and do not want anybody else to go through this.
john
|
|
|
25-09-2008, 11:59 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,050
Thanks: Gave 31, Got 247
|
Re: ''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
The problem you have is that Western Union transfer is being used in a way that it was never intended - it's fine as a way of getting emergency money to someone you know, but otherwise there are no safeguards. Its advantages becomes disadvantages in your case i.e. you don't get the kind of protection you'd get paying by credit card for example. John, I don't know what good it'll do but Western Union do have an email address for reporting fraud to; it's 'spoof@westernunion.com'.
LookSmartPro.com's terms and conditions may as well be written on toilet paper.
Robert
__________________
Panasonic TH37PX70 TV ~ Panasonic PT-AE100E Projector ~ Yamaha RXV1700 AV Receiver ~ Momitsu DVD-V880 DVD ~ Toshiba HD-D1 ~ Canton Movie 150-QX speakers ~ PS3 (Japanese) ~ XBOX 360
|
|
|
03-10-2008, 10:53 PM
|
#6 (permalink)
|
|
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0
|
Re: ''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
just an update probably cause i registered my emal address with them i am now getting phishing emails
see below
DEAR CUSTOMER,
Lloyds TSB is pleased to notify our online banking customers that
we have successfully upgraded to a more secure and encrypted
SSL servers to serve our esteemed customers for a better and
more efficent banking services in the year 2008.
Due to this recent upgrade you are requested to update your
account information by following the reference below. using our
new secure and safe SSL servers. To validate your online banking account
(edited) Update Online Banking
This Email has being sent to all our Bank customers, and it is
compulsory to follow as failure to verify account details will lead to
account suspension.[/B]
[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]
Thank you.
Lloyds TSB Online Banking Security Team
)2008 Lloyds TSB internet Banking . All rights reserved. Version 1.0 31w23m3
some are easy peesy to spot some are not
don't be fooled
john[/FONT]
Last edited by john barnes; 03-10-2008 at 10:57 PM.
|
|
|
04-10-2008, 12:56 AM
|
#7 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,050
Thanks: Gave 31, Got 247
|
Re: ''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
It would be worthwhile forwarding the e-mail you received to 'emailscams@lloydstsb.co.uk'
Robert
__________________
Panasonic TH37PX70 TV ~ Panasonic PT-AE100E Projector ~ Yamaha RXV1700 AV Receiver ~ Momitsu DVD-V880 DVD ~ Toshiba HD-D1 ~ Canton Movie 150-QX speakers ~ PS3 (Japanese) ~ XBOX 360
|
|
|
04-10-2008, 12:07 PM
|
#8 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 133
Thanks: Gave 5, Got 16
|
Re: ''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by john barnes
just an update probably cause i registered my emal address with them i am now getting phishing emails
see below
DEAR CUSTOMER,
Lloyds TSB is pleased to notify our online banking customers that
we have successfully upgraded to a more secure and encrypted
SSL servers to serve our esteemed customers for a better and
more efficent banking services in the year 2008.
Due to this recent upgrade you are requested to update your
account information by following the reference below. using our
new secure and safe SSL servers. To validate your online banking account
(edited) Update Online Banking
This Email has being sent to all our Bank customers, and it is
compulsory to follow as failure to verify account details will lead to
account suspension.[/B]
[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]
Thank you.
Lloyds TSB Online Banking Security Team
)2008 Lloyds TSB internet Banking . All rights reserved. Version 1.0 31w23m3
some are easy peesy to spot some are not
don't be fooled
john[/FONT]
|
I am also getting these emails! its not just lloyds, but also other banks they are trying to fool you with...
|
|
|
04-10-2008, 2:08 PM
|
#9 (permalink)
|
|
Prominent Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Great Yarmouth
Posts: 3,191
Thanks: Gave 5, Got 171
|
Re: ''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
Western Union is the favourite of Nigerian scammers aka the 419 scam.
I asked this question on here a few days ago, I knew it was too good to be true as the only way to pay on the internet is by credit card.
I don't know why they haven't been arrested for fraud.
I sent them an email just to see what response I'd get, they said I have to transfer money via Western Union.
I replied back that I only use credit cards in case I get scammed, never got a reply back after that.
They prey on the gullible. You do not have a leg to stand on. Hopefully major banks will get involved and the rossers will track down the criminals.
__________________
Respect Ma Auth-ora-tah
Last edited by marty2005; 04-10-2008 at 2:11 PM.
|
|
|
24-10-2008, 7:36 AM
|
#10 (permalink)
|
|
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0
|
Re: ''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
just a quick update again, after being scammed i reported it to an american fraud website stating that i had been scammed and that the website was saying it was american based and still duping customers, i also said the website should be shut down, dont no if this helped but have been keeping track of the website and it has been down for about two weeks now coincidence or not i'm not sure.
john
|
|
|
24-10-2008, 9:32 PM
|
#11 (permalink)
|
|
Prominent Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Great Yarmouth
Posts: 3,191
Thanks: Gave 5, Got 171
|
Re: ''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
It is not down, it's now trading (conning) under a different name.
Here's one of their names: v8digitalonline.com
__________________
Respect Ma Auth-ora-tah
|
|
|
24-10-2008, 11:17 PM
|
#12 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,050
Thanks: Gave 31, Got 247
|
Re: ''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
It looks like the same kind of scam site as BestDigitalCenter.com. It purports to be located in Palo Alto, California USA but the domain registration shows otherwise. Likewise, they try and hook you in with stupidly low prices along with Paypal, Visa and Mastercard logos on the front page. But payment requires the use of Western Union. Once again the Terms and Conditions look worthless.
Robert
__________________
Panasonic TH37PX70 TV ~ Panasonic PT-AE100E Projector ~ Yamaha RXV1700 AV Receiver ~ Momitsu DVD-V880 DVD ~ Toshiba HD-D1 ~ Canton Movie 150-QX speakers ~ PS3 (Japanese) ~ XBOX 360
Last edited by rwniel; 24-10-2008 at 11:36 PM.
|
|
|
25-10-2008, 1:06 AM
|
#13 (permalink)
|
|
Prominent Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Great Yarmouth
Posts: 3,191
Thanks: Gave 5, Got 171
|
Re: ''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
BestDigitalCenter is just another one of their sites.
Terms are about as good as a chocolate t-pot.
They always have the Visa, Mastercard and PayPal logos greyed out.
__________________
Respect Ma Auth-ora-tah
|
|
|
31-10-2008, 8:50 AM
|
#14 (permalink)
|
|
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0
|
Re: ''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
website is back up scamming again.
john
|
|
|
31-10-2008, 8:52 AM
|
#15 (permalink)
|
|
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: Gave 0, Got 0
|
Re: ''LookSmartPro'' - Anyone used it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwniel
It looks like the same kind of scam site as BestDigitalCenter.com. It purports to be located in Palo Alto, California USA but the domain registration shows otherwise. Likewise, they try and hook you in with stupidly low prices along with Paypal, Visa and Mastercard logos on the front page. But payment requires the use of Western Union. Once again the Terms and Conditions look worthless.
Robert
|
how do you check their domain registration.
john
|
|
|
| |