PDA

View Full Version : Anyone heard of Goldeneye Navigation SatNav?


deniewibly
25-01-2006, 3:54 PM
Hi

Just got this flyer through the mail advertising the Goldeneye Navigation system. It says it's RRP is £359.95 and they are selling it for £159.95 as a special offer. Anyone heard of this?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. The unit looks pretty good but it would be nice to hear from anyone with first hand experience.

Cheers

Dene

p.s. They list their website as www.navigationdirect.co.uk but it's not up and running yet.

avincar
25-01-2006, 6:07 PM
Hi there,

Have never heard or seen of such a system, but it may strangely have something to do with the company linked below, they are fairly well known for producing normal maps for cylists etc.

Sorry if I haven't been of much help but good luck

http://www.goldeneyemaps.com/

dambuster53
06-02-2006, 8:41 AM
hi,
I've also had a flyer for the same equipment, and I've also had a look on the internet for both the equipment and company without any success. They say on the flyer that they have sold 100,000 plus and yet the website doesn't exist!

deniewibly
08-02-2006, 3:53 PM
Yeah, I threw the flyer and bought the new Sony. I reckon it must have been a bit dodgy.

D

Wokka34
09-02-2006, 1:27 PM
I received this flyer yesterday,confirm that the e-mail address does not exist.
When you try to call the telephone number shown you get a recorded message saying they are inundated with calls and leave your name and number and they will get back to you.

Kit looks ok but I would be very wary of them,sending out flyers with info that does not work is bad news.

Wokk34

IanS
09-02-2006, 7:12 PM
This is the whois lookup on navigationdirect.co.uk

Domain name:
navigationdirect.co.uk

Registrant:
Anthony Gilberthorpe

Registrant type:
UK Sole Trader

Registrant's address:
<removed>
St Leonards-on-Sea
East Sussex
TN38 9NP
GB

Registrant's agent:
PIPEX Communications Hosting Ltd t/a 123-Reg.co.uk [Tag = 123-REG]
URL: http://www.123-reg.co.uk

Relevant dates:
Registered on: 04-Nov-2005
Renewal date: 04-Nov-2007
Last updated: 26-Jan-2006

Registration status:
Registered until renewal date.

Name servers:
ns1.truedns.co.uk
ns2.truedns.co.uk

WHOIS lookup made at 20:10:27 09-Feb-2006


Notable that the registrant type is "sole trader", so the kit may be imported or maybe its some sort of franchise?

At least with the likes of Navman, Garmin, TomTom you know who you are dealing with and what you are getting.

Always remember the maxim "If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is"

MDUK
10-02-2006, 10:19 AM
I have had the leaflet this morning, i had planned to buy a tomtome one on Saturday so the timing of this was spot on.

It was the radar software included that particuarly caught my eye.

i did a search (which is how i found this site) i don't like what i see so i will be going to Woolworths for the tomtom one tommorrow as it is £249 (unless anyone knows better?)

edit:Have now bought one, very pleased.

chapelblue
12-02-2006, 9:21 AM
I received the flyer on Friday, as did many people in the area I live.
I suggest you take a look at www.roadangel.co.uk as the picture on the flyer is of the Roadangel Navigator which retails at £499.99 and is their current model. I think this is very very dodgy!

Wokka34
12-02-2006, 10:33 AM
On reading Fridays Daily Telegraph noted Tesco advert for Sat Nav.units

Rushed out and purchased Navman iCN 510 for £159.17p from them.

An excellent deal.

They have deals available on Sat Nav units until 14th Feb.:thumbsup:

mintalkin
26-02-2006, 7:47 PM
the company is bogus check out ukspeedtraps .co.uk spread the word

Maximus69
02-03-2006, 12:08 PM
:lesson: Hi, just joined today.
This sat nav is a complete scam. Just spoke to the guy who's mobile is given out when u call the 0207 tel number on their flyer. He is sick of all the calls he gets, 8 so far today, off people who have all paid for this gimmick and received bog all in return. Their website has been down for ages. Hope you didn't pay for anything mate?:
Cheers
Ned.