 |
|
02-07-2005, 11:28 AM
|
#1 (permalink)
|
|
Prominent Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 3,497
Thanks: Gave 224, Got 127
|
internetdownloads.org - what do you think?
www.internetdownloads.org
Just found these via google, they are offering 6 months of unlimited movie downloads for $24.95, they state that they have 'War of the Worlds' available and are legal
I want to sign up but am a little concerned that is less than kosher, any opinions?
thanks
lisa
|
|
|
02-07-2005, 11:37 AM
|
#2 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 384
Thanks: Gave 12, Got 9
|
Sounds iffy to me!
__________________
Panasonic TH-37PX7B,  Onkyo 875  ,
Sony BDP-S350, Sky+
Front Mission 773, Center Canton CD50, Rear Mission 70DS
|
|
|
02-07-2005, 1:06 PM
|
#3 (permalink)
|
|
Distinguished Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 12,222
Thanks: Gave 12, Got 614
|
They are just charging you to download a P2P program and its not legal, below is a statement taken from their site...
Quote:
|
FILESHARING USING GROKSTER NETWORKS IS NOT LEGAL IN THE USA AS COURT DESITION MADE IN JUNE, 27, 2005
|
Last edited by Indiana Jones; 02-07-2005 at 1:10 PM.
|
|
|
02-07-2005, 3:20 PM
|
#4 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 541
Thanks: Gave 25, Got 52
|
Its a scam. They are selling nothing more than software which can already be had for free. (Check out the mp3/video player, its Winamp)
|
|
|
02-07-2005, 3:42 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
|
|
Prominent Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 3,497
Thanks: Gave 224, Got 127
|
I am wondering if it is a scam or a loophole, a couple of quotes from their site:
"Our members enjoy direct downloads. Internetdownloas.org is not a P2P service."
and
"You will be crossing the fine legal line as soon as you start recording you downloads massively with the objective of selling CDs or DVDs which you haven't bought and have got no resale rights for.
You will be also crossing the line if you use your recorded downloads for public radio broadcasting or for public viewing or enjoyement as it would be the case using them in a movie theatre, a bar, pub, disco, and all kinds of other public places."
It seems that you can pay for direct downloads from their servers, and you don't have to go for the package that includes the software/codec packs.
No sharing required.
|
|
|
02-07-2005, 4:07 PM
|
#6 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 541
Thanks: Gave 25, Got 52
|
There is no way in hell they will have any content for download from a server they own. If they had films/games/music available on a server they would be in serious trouble. It is totally illegal.
All they will give you is a p2p program, the same everybody else is using (illegally) for free.* Claims like....
Quote:
DOES Internetdownloads HAVE THE SAME FILES I CAN FIND ELSEWHERE?
Highly unlikely! Since our service was engineered specifically to download high quality files and the database was created for the same purpose, our members enjoy unprecedented download speeds, even with a slow connection, and the highest quality video and audio files available on the Net today.
|
are laughable.
* Thats assuming of course you even get that. Would you really even contemplate entering your card details on a website like this???
|
|
|
02-07-2005, 4:14 PM
|
#7 (permalink)
|
|
Prominent Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 3,497
Thanks: Gave 224, Got 127
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by DanH
Would you really even contemplate entering your card details on a website like this???
|
Er, no, course not  ....
....although, they claim to be recommended by PC Pro, PCW, PC Buyers Guide and Computer Shopper - all legitimate PC mags...
Last edited by lisag; 02-07-2005 at 4:58 PM.
|
|
|
02-07-2005, 9:03 PM
|
#8 (permalink)
|
|
Distinguished Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 12,222
Thanks: Gave 12, Got 614
|
Check out the terms of service...
Quote:
|
1. INTERNETDOWNLOADS GROUP LCC makes no claim to ownership or proprietary interest in any of the websites and/or software it recommends. We do not re-sell or license software downloaded from other sites. INTERNETDOWNLOADS GROUP LCC does not host or share copyrighted files, we offer quick access to programs and other utilities to download movies and music, as well as online tutorials to teach you how to use these programs.
|
No matter what they have written on their main page they will have a disclaimer saying anything you get is nothing to do with them.
Last edited by Indiana Jones; 02-07-2005 at 9:07 PM.
|
|
|
03-07-2005, 9:41 AM
|
#9 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 541
Thanks: Gave 25, Got 52
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by lisag
....although, they claim to be recommended by PC Pro, PCW, PC Buyers Guide and Computer Shopper - all legitimate PC mags... 
|
Id be willing to bet my next pay packet that they are using the logos without permission.
The whole site looks like a jumbled mess of ripped off graphics.
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Indiana Jones
No matter what they have written on their main page they will have a disclaimer saying anything you get is nothing to do with them
|
Exactly, and yet they claim to offer fast direct downloads with no sharing.
Also, if what they are selling has nothing to do with them, how can they charge anything for it? If your lucky enough to get anything from these cowboys, it will just be a "tutorial" of where to get free programs and how to use them. Something that Google can already do quite well without costing anything.
|
|
|
03-07-2005, 10:21 AM
|
#10 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,086
Thanks: Gave 14, Got 17
|
There's no such thing as a free lunch!
__________________
‘Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.’
Arthur C Clarke.
|
|
|
03-07-2005, 12:12 PM
|
#11 (permalink)
|
|
Prominent Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 3,497
Thanks: Gave 224, Got 127
|
Maybe I could e-mail those mags and ask if they are really recommending this site?
|
|
|
05-07-2005, 5:59 PM
|
#12 (permalink)
|
|
Guest
|
Rip off merchants, do not pay them any money they are definately not legitimate.
Try EMule or WinMx and avoid Kazza as it contains spyware, the first 2 i mentioned have no spyware associated with them.
|
|
|
|
13-07-2005, 11:18 PM
|
#13 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Stirling
Posts: 1,621
Thanks: Gave 63, Got 70
|
The folks above are right its a scam / rip off. Having just got broadband I've yet to use PP/ bittorent etc but have being doing my research and this was covered in a google search for " bittorrent dangers" where a site mentioned that there are sites like these that sell you something you can get for hehaw and they will almost always add spyware as well.
listen to the folks on these forums and avoid.
On the spyware front, so far I believe WINMX BITTORRENT and LIMEWIRE dont have spyware ( provided you download from their official sites) hopefully one of the more savvy AVforums members can confirm this.
|
|
|
| |