View Single Post
Old 19-07-2009, 2:25 PM   #70
LittleGreyCat LittleGreyCat is offline
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Experience Points:
2,240, Level: 10
Points: 2,240, Level: 10 Points: 2,240, Level: 10 Points: 2,240, Level: 10
Activity: 4.9%
Activity: 4.9% Activity: 4.9% Activity: 4.9%
Thanks: Gave 8, Got 1
Posts: 90
Re: Protechstore - legit?

I haven't hit Protechstore but I got here from a Google Product Search for a Pentax W60 camera.

This included 'newtechlink.com' and 'techsohos.com' both with ridiculously low prices and no customer reviews.

The web sites also looked remarkably similar in general layout.

Being of a suspicious nature I looked up the WHOIS records using Whois lookup and Domain name search (other WHOIS services are available) and found both registrations were created on the same day with the same registration details barring the owner's name.

O.K. - small businesses may use a global registration service and share a server, but two businesses selling the same product registered in the same place on the same day and both cheaper than anyone else (and no reviews)?

I Googled the PO Box number and hit this thread.

Oh, well. No cheap camera. However I am reasonably IT literate and so knew a little about how to check further.

I still have no absolute proof that anything is wrong [apart from the information in this thread], but enough doubts to avoid these sites.

Well done to those who contributed information, especially 'eyeballing' the claimed trading addresses.

Cheers

LGC
  Quote